Weekend Update: Independence Day Edition

Every weekend should be a three day weekend.

Last week I started going to a new gym. LOVE IT. I’ve had a membership to 24 Hour Fitness since we moved to Arizona, but I’ve come to the realization that I can not work out alone. I just don’t push myself. I show up at the gym with a big plan, then I end up walking on the treadmill for 30 minutes, getting bored, and going home. I NEED group classes to motivate me and my new gym offers high intensity interval training classes six days a week at times that work with my schedule. I went four days last week. I can hardly walk and I love it.

Friday morning I went to bootcamp, then spent the rest of the day working around the house and running errands before we went to the in-laws for a 4th of July BBQ. I am a dope and I didn’t take any pictures, despite Coco looking really cute. By the time fireworks started, Brian and I were exhausted. We were leaving Coco with Brian’s parents for the rest of the weekend so we went home to get some sleep while everyone else watched fireworks from the back yard.

Saturday morning I went to bootcamp again, then came home and got ready for our trip to Jerome, AZ. We drove up with some friends that recently moved from Reno to Phoenix. The plan was to do some wine tasting and some sight-seeing, then spend the night in Jerome. The trip did not disappoint.  I love Jerome. It’s a cute, crazy old mining town literally built on the side of a mountain. It reminded me so much of Virginia City, NV.

We had rooms at the Mile High Inn so after checking in there, we wandered around town. We had lunch at a little BBQ joint, wine at Caduceus Cellars’ tasting room, more drinks at The Asylum, sangria at 433 Cellars, and if I remember correctly, we visited a few other bars and had more drinks. My memory is pretty fuzzy. From what I remember, we had a great time that ended with an attempt to play Scrabble in our hotel room, but nobody was sober enough to keep score so we just went around taking turns playing two-letter words because nobody cared anyway.

There is a tradition passed down from Johnson male to Johnson male: when a camera is turned on you, point at something.

There is a tradition passed down from Johnson male to Johnson male: when a camera is turned on you, point at something.

Interesting view from our hotel bed.

Interesting view from our hotel bed.

More pointing.

More pointing.

He's not always a weirdo. Sometimes he's a hotty,

He’s not always a weirdo. Sometimes he’s a hotty,

Yes, I'm 3 sheets at this point, but damn don't I look happy to be with that guy!

Yes, I’m 3 sheets at this point, but damn don’t I look happy to be with that guy!

The next morning I was awake at 5am like a freak. I didn’t think I’d be able to go back to sleep so I thought I’d head out and find coffee. But when I did a seach on my iphone for local coffee bars, only two places came up and neither opened for a couple hours. That is when I realized that, as cute as Jerome is, I could never live there. What kind of place doesn’t have coffee available at 5am??

I took my shattered hopes and dreams back to bed and managed to sleep for another hour. Brian woke up around 7am and he offered to walk with me to the coffee shop that was supposed to be open by then. So we walked over there but it was still closed.

The residents of Jerome aren't sticklers for business hours.

The residents of Jerome aren’t sticklers for business hours.

photo 5

So we grabbed a couple bottles of water from the cooler in the back of my car and split a protein bar I found in my purse while we sat outside and enjoyed the fresh air and a nice breeze, something we don’t get much of in Phoenix this time of year.

Later on, Chris and Judi woke up and we met for breakfast. Our rooms at the Mile High came with a free breakfast from the restaurant downstairs. It was delicious. The place was old and funky and it was kinda strange having the bathroom sink in the middle of our room, but the breakfast made up for it.

We drove back to Phoenix after breakfast, picked Coco up from Brian’s parent’s house, and spent the rest of the day regretting drinking so much. So it was a 3-day weekend well spent.

How did you enjoy the holiday?

Leave a Reply

