Here I Go Again.

If you follow me on Instagram you’re probably annoyed with me you’ve probably noticed that I’ve been posting a ton of workout and healthy food pictures lately. I’m involved in two challenges right now, a 4-week challenge at TruHIT Fitness and a 12-week challenge hosted by Skinny Meg and Fab Chick Gets Fit, #SMCHALLENGE.

I spent most of last year depressed. I wasn’t happy about moving to Arizona and losing my support network. Back in Reno, I LOVED my workouts with Kaia FIT Sierra. I loved my job. I loved my friends and my community. I loved the home we were renting from Brian’s aunt and uncle. Life as a new mom was hectic, but in early 2013 I felt like I’d found my groove. I was happy. Moving here felt like a rug had been pulled out from underneath me.

Although I was lucky to find a good job with a great company, the other parts of my life were faltering. I was drowning my depression in food and alcohol. I spent most of the time I wasn’t at work on the couch with a glass of wine or eating nachos and margaritas at Zipps. I know my problems were taking a toll on Brian and he felt guilty for moving us here. Many times I cried to him that I felt like I didn’t know who I was anymore and I didn’t know how to pull myself out of it. Many times he told me that we could pack up and move back to Reno if that is what it took. Although I love him completely, I worried that if I didn’t get it together our relationship would suffer (even more than it already was).

Now that we’re in our own home, I’m making friends here, and getting used to the soul-crushing heat, I feel like I’m finally able to focus on making my health a priority. I’m LOVING the classes at TruHIT Fitness. It’s only 1.5 miles from my house and they have classes at 5:30am so I’m able to balance it with work and being a mom.

The #SMCHALLENGE has been a good motivator to hold me accountable with food. This weekend was #smnoexcuses weekend: a challenge to go three days (Friday – Sunday) with no cheats. My Polar Heart Rate Monitor arrived on Friday and I was excited to kill it this weekend with healthy food choices and workouts – and I did!

I had bootcamp on Friday and Saturday morning. Saturday I even walked to the gym prior to cardio day. I burned nearly 1,000 calories! Even though Brian was making Dark & Stormys on Saturday and I wanted a cocktail SO BAD I didn’t indulge. I just drank my water. I even went out and got a pedicure to keep my mind off of drinks!

Friday

Friday

Saturday

Saturday

Sunday

Sunday

So I got on the scale this morning hoping for at least a two pound loss . . . and I’d gained two pounds since Friday. WOMP WOMP. Still down 5 lbs since the start of the challenges, but still . . .

Sigh. I know I can’t let this get me down. The coaches at TruHIT even recommended taking the batteries out of our home scales for the four weeks since we’ll be building muscle and losing fat. I know this. I feel better. I’m seeing small progress, but DANG. I just want to see the number on the scale drop.

Tomorrow Meg and Val are hosting a #loveyourbodychallenge. I’m supposed to post pics of a part of my body that I love or something I’m doing/eating that will make me love my body more. So again, if you follow me on IG, I apologize in advance. 🙂

Gotta tell ya, though. Val posted a picture of her coach on Instagram last week. I think it would be weird to actually post a picture of this girl I don’t know on my blog, but here’s a link to the photo. WHAT THE WHAT!?!?!?!  I don’t even know what to say about that butt, I just know that after I wogged two miles last night, I busted out some extra squats and at bootcamp this morning, I made sure to get my squats nice and deep during the medicine ball throws. Motivation.

Leave a Reply

