Recipe: “Skinny” Mixed Berry Shortcake

I swear I’m not trying to be a food blogger. I’ve been a little M.I.A. recently. I’ve been busy working out, working on the house, working at work, and being a wife and mom. I’ve made over a few spaces at the new house and I plan on sharing that soon, but in the mean time I wanted to share this awesome revamp of a Pioneer Woman recipe.

I may have mentioned that I’m participating in the Skinny Meg & Fab Chick Gets Fit 90 Day Challenge group on Facebook. It’s been a lot of fun and a good way to stay motivated and get new ideas from other women.  In fact, we had our weigh-out at bootcamp last Sunday. I’ve only lost four pounds, but I’ve lost inches all over and shaved almost a minute off of my mile. WOOT WOOT!

There is a mini challenge this week to take a favorite recipe and make it “skinny”.  What better challenge than to re-work a Pioneer Woman recipe???

I’ll admit, I haven’t tried the inspiration recipe, but I’ve made LOTS of PW recipes in the past so I know it would be scrumptious. But it also seemed like an easy one to re-work. So here it is:

“Skinny” Mixed Berry Shortcake

Mixed Berry Shortcake

Ingredients

For Biscuits

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 4 packets Truvia sweetener
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) cold light margarine, cut into pieces
  • 1-1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1 tbsp white distilled vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract

For Berries:

  • 2 pints mixed berries and/or strawberries
  • 4 packets Truvia sweetener
  • zest and juice of 1 small orange

For Topping: Light Cool-Whip

Instructions:

  1. Combine flour, baking powder, 4 packets of Truvia, and salt in a large bowl. Add margarine pieces and use a pastry cutter to combine until margarine is completely cut into the flour mixture.
  2. Add white vinegar to the skim milk and stir to combine. Then add almond extract to the milk mixture. While stirring the flour mixture, drizzle in the milk mixture until dough just comes together and is no longer crumbly.
  3. Drop in clumps on to two baking sheets, then bake for 15 minutes, or until golden brown. Set aside to cool completely.
  4. Wash berries (slice strawberries if using) and place into a bowl. Sprinkle on 4 packets of Truvia sweetener, then add orange zest and juice. Stir gently, then set aside for 15 to 20 minutes to allow syrup to develop.
  5. To serve, lay one biscuit on a plate, top with syrupy fruit, then top with a dollop of the Light Cool Whip.

Nutritional Info (per serving):

Serves: 8
Calories: 316
Fat: 5g
Carbs: 56g
Sugar: 8g
Protein: 6g

My changes dropped the calories per serving by almost 300, reduced the fat content by 25 grams, reduced the carbohydrates by 18, and reduced the sugar by 27 grams! It might not be the least indulgent thing you can eat, but if you’re in the mood for a yummy desert without all the guilt, it’s a pretty good option.

The verdict from the family? Well, Brian said he wouldn’t have known the recipe was “skinnified” if I hadn’t told him about it and Coco was dancing around the house singing with a spoon in his hand and Cool Whip smeared all over his face. (I tried to get a picture of that, but the kid moves too fast and they all came out blurry! I think I might make this the next time we have company. It’s DELISH!

 

Leave a Reply

